August 08, 2020 The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire

news by category

CSR News

Freeport-McMoRan CEO is new ICMM Chairman

Submitted by: International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM)

Categories: Green Jobs & Career News, Environment

Posted: Oct 16, 2008 – 07:24 AM EST


Oct. 16 /CSRwire/ - - October 16, 2008 - Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold President and CEO Richard Adkerson has been appointed ICMM Chairman. Mr Adkerson has served on the ICMM Council since May 2005. In addition, Marius Kloppers, CEO of BHP Billiton has been appointed Vice Chairman.

Mr Adkerson said, "It is an honour to serve as ICMM Chairman. ICMM member companies have committed collectively to improving their performance based on sustainable development principles. I am looking forward to working with my fellow CEOs on the Council to ensure we honour that commitment."

ICMM President Tony Hodge said, "I look forward to working with Richard and Marius who will provide a wealth of experience as ICMM continues to promote good practice and improved performance across the industry."

Notes to Editors:

The International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM) is a CEO-led organization representing many of the world's leading mining and metals companies as well as regional, national and commodity associations. An important part of its mandate is dedicated to sustainable development. ICMM members are committed to improving their sustainable development performance and to the responsible production of the mineral and metal resources society needs. ICMM's vision is a viable mining, minerals and metals industry that is widely recognized as essential for modern living and a key contributor to sustainable development.

ICMM's 18 corporate members are:
Alcoa, Anglo American, AngloGold Ashanti, Barrick, BHP Billiton, Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold, Gold Fields, Lihir Gold Limited, Lonmin, Mitsubishi Materials, Newmont, Nippon Mining & Metals, OZ Minerals, Rio Tinto, Sumitomo Metal Mining, Teck, Vale, Xstrata.

ICMM's 30 association members are:
Cámara Argentina de Empresarios Mineros, Cámara Asomineros Andi (Colombia), Camara Minera de México, CAMIVEN (Camara Minera de Venezuela), Chamber of Mines of South Africa, China International Mining Group, Cobalt Development Institute, Consejo Minero de Chile A.G., Eurometaux, Euromines, Federation of Indian Mineral Industries, Indonesian Mining Association, Instituto Brasileiro de Mineraçao, International Aluminium Institute, International Copper Association, International Molybdenum Association, International Wrought Copper Council, International Zinc Association, Japan Mining Industry Association, Lead Development Association International, Minerals Council of Australia, Mining Association of Canada, Mining Industry Associations of Southern Africa, National Mining Association USA (NMA), Nickel Institute, Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada, Sociedad Nacional de Minería (Chile), Sociedad Nacional de Minería Petróleo y Energía (Peru), World Coal Institute, World Gold Council.

For more information, please contact:

Ben Peachey
Phone: +44 (0) 20 7467 5082
Phone 2: +44 (0) 7733 225130


Issuers of news releases and not csrwire are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content