November 17, 2017

CSRWire.com The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire

news by category

CSR News

Free Webinar, April 5: The 2016 Anti-Slavery Compliance Benchmarking Study – Trends and Good Practices

Interactive Webinar with iPoint, Development International and Julia Ormond of ASSET

Submitted by: iPoint-systems gmbh

Categories: Events, Human Rights

Posted: Mar 30, 2017 – 12:15 PM EST

 

REUTLINGEN, GERMANY, Mar. 30 /CSRwire/ - Join us on April 5, 2017, for an interactive webinar which will explain the findings, trends, and good practices of a recently released anti-slavery compliance benchmarking study. Prepared by the NPO Development International (DI), the study rated the legal compliance, affirmative practice, and transparency of 1,909 companies’ anti-human trafficking and slavery-related disclosure statements of 2016. The law in focus: the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act of 2010 (CA-TISCA). The companies subject to this law include U.S. as well as foreign companies with a combined global revenue of $48.4 trillion in 2016.

In the interactive webinar, DI’s principal investigator Dr. Chris Bayer and DI’s analyst Jesse Hudson are joined by former UN Goodwill Ambassador Julia Ormond, founder and president of the Alliance to stop Slavery and End Trafficking (ASSET), which was instrumental in passing the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act and the UK Modern Slavery Act (2015).

Register here

Date and time:
April 5, 2017, 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PDT | 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MDT | 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM EDT | 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CDT | 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM BST | 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM CEST 

Speakers

  • Julia Ormond, Founder and President, Alliance to Stop Slavery and End Trafficking (ASSET)
  • Dr. Chris N. Bayer, Principal Investigator, Development International
  • Jesse Hudson, Analyst, Development International
  • Marc Church, President of U.S. Sales and Operations, iPoint-systems

About CA-TISCA

CA-TISCA requires retailers and manufacturers doing business in the state of California with annual worldwide gross receipts exceeding $100 million to publicly disclose the measures they have taken to eradicate modern-day slavery and human trafficking in their supply chains.

About the 2016 Benchmarking Study

The iPoint-funded study indicates that the companies in focus have improved on all fronts as compared to reporting year 2015. More companies had a statement, more were compliant, and more pro-active initiative has been taken by these businesses in their efforts to responsibly produce and source goods which they sell in California. Among the 20 companies which received a combined compliance, affirmative, and transparency score of 86% and above are American Eagle Outfitters (95%), HP (93%), Intel (92%), Burberry (90%), Brooks Sports (90%), Patagonia (89%), GAP (88%), Papyrus (88%), Bath & Body Works (87%), Vans (87%), and Apple (86%).

Resources

Evaluated companies can request their individual scorecards with a breakdown of their disclosure compliance, affirmative practice, and transparency score, from this website: http://www.ipoint-systems.com/ca-tisca-2016/

The full report, entitled “Corporate Compliance with the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act: Anti-Slavery Performance in 2016”, can also be downloaded from this website.

For more information, please contact:

Katie Boehme Head of Corporate Communications
Phone: 004971211448960

For more from this organization:

iPoint-systems gmbh

 

Issuers of news releases and not csrwire are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content