June 20, 2018

CSRWire.com The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire

news by category

CSR News

Lifetime Achievement Award in Collaboration Research to Pioneer Corporate Social Responsibility Academic for the Benefit of Leading Charity Fighting to End Homelessness in Boston

4th International Symposium on Cross Sector Social Interactions (CSSI), 29-30 May 2014 Suffolk University Boston, USA

Submitted by: International Cross Sector Social Interactions Symposium

Categories: Corporate Social Responsibility, Ratings & Awards

Posted: May 27, 2014 – 08:00 AM EST


BOSTON, May 27 /CSRwire/ - Professor Sandra Waddock, the Galligan Chair of Strategy, Carroll School Scholar of Corporate Responsibility and Professor of Management at Boston College, is to be presented tomorrow with the Lifetime Achievement Award in Collaboration Research sponsored by The Partnerships Resource Centre, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University at the 4th International Symposium on Cross Sector Social Interactions (CSSI), 29-30 May 2014 which will take place at Suffolk University Boston, USA.

The bi-annual symposium is hosted by the ‘Centre for Innovation and Change Leadership’ at Suffolk University. Dr. Carlos Rufin and Dr. Miguel Rivera-Santos, co-programme symposium chairs focused this year’s CSSI Symposium on: ‘Innovative Collaboration for a Complex World: Reaching Across Institutional Divides’. Symposium program co-chair, Professor Carlos Rufín, commented: “We are looking forward to a very exciting Symposium at Suffolk University. Boston is an innovation hub along many dimensions, from advanced technologies to public policies, and at the core of these initiatives is the collaboration across the traditional boundaries of business, government, academia, and nonprofits. At Suffolk, we are very much part of Boston’s cross-sector innovation networks, and as such this Symposium is an integral part of our interest in learning more about and promoting cross-sector interactions. We are thus very pleased to host this event.”

The recipient of the 2014 LifeTime Achievement (LTA) Award, Professor Waddock, a pioneer in cross sector collaboration research, spent much of her academic career researching this subject. On news of the award, Professor Sandra Waddock remarked: “I am thrilled and humbled to be given this lifetime achievement award. It is exciting to watch how the field has developed over the past decades and particularly exciting to see the forward-looking scholarship that now exists in the cross-sector social interactions space. Collaboration research inherently involves dealing with what are called wicked problems – intractable, complex and indeterminate problems for which different stakeholders have different definitions – and, importantly, different proposed solutions. Coming to resolution and making progress on such wicked problems, if it is to be done well, demands multi-sector collaboration. That is why the progress that the field has made is so important.”

The Symposium Chair, Prof. Andrew Crane, George R. Gardiner Professor of Business Ethics and Director of the Centre of Excellence in Responsible Business at Schulich School of Business at York University, commented: “Sandra Waddock is a true pioneer in cross-sector partnership research. She is one of the giants whose shoulders we all stand upon.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award in Collaboration Research is sponsored by the Partnerships Resource Centre at Rotterdam School of Management (RSM) of Erasmus University, The Netherlands. Professor Rob van Tulder, The Director of the Partnerships Resource Centre (PrC), and Professor of International Business-Society Management, remarked about the LTA Award in Collaboration Research: “The Partnerships Resource Centre (PrC) aims at making the bi-annual Lifetime Achievement Award a powerful and appealing tradition. The PrC, therefore, commits itself to sponsoring the prize for as long as possible. The PrC is dedicated to continue honoring those academics who made exceptional contributions to the advancement of knowledge on cross-sector collaborations for the social good in general and sustainable development specifically. Our hope for the Boston Symposium is to encourage and empower young minds to build on Jim Austin’s [the first recipient of the LTA Award] and Sandra Waddock’s legacy to one day stand on their strong shoulders and progress even further their contributions. The sculpture that accompanies the award is a testimony of our acknowledgement that science also has to be a collaborative effort.”

The award is associated with a monetary contribution of $1,000, covered by the award’s sponsor PrC, which will be donated to the recipient’s charity of choice. The charity of choice of Prof. Waddock is: The Pine Street Inn: www.pinestreetinn.org. The Pine Street Inn is a Metro-Boston institution that has been helping homeless people since 1969, providing food, shelter, outreach and permanent supportive housing. Lyndia Downie, president and executive director of Pine Street said: “Pine Street Inn is very honored to have been chosen for this award. This donation will be used to support Boston’s most vulnerable men and women in reaching their highest possible level of self-sufficiency,” she added.

Delegates at the symposium will have the opportunity to network with leading academics and leaders of business and nonprofit organisations such as Prof. Kasturi Rangan of Harvard Business School (key-note speaker of the Symposium), Mark Camp, Deputy Executive Director, Cultural Survival; Prof. Ans Kolk of the University of Amsterdam; Steve Waddell, Ecosystems Labs; representative from Teck Resources Limited in addition to a host of other academics and practioners from around the world.

For more information about the 4th International CSSI symposium, including the full list speakers, please visit www.suffolk.edu/business/departments/18014.php.


For information about the 4th International CSSI Symposium, please contact: Ms. Teri Malionek, Director of Marketing & Communications, University of Suffolk, Boston, email address: TMalionek@suffolk.edu Telephone number: +1 617-573-8631

Information about the Recipient Charity: ‘The Pine Street Inn’ is available: www.pinestreetinn.org/about_us/organization

More information about the Sponsor of the LTA Award in Collaboration Research ‘The Partnerships Resource Centre’, Erasmus University is available from: www.partnershipsresourcecentre.org

Symposium Programme Co-Chairs:

Carlos Rufín – Associate Professor of International Business, Suffolk University (USA), crufin@suffolk.edu

Miguel Rivera-Santos – Associate Professor of Strategy and International Business, EMLYON Business School (France) and Babson College (USA), mrivera@babson.edu

Organizing Committee: Rob Van Tulder – Programme Chair 2012; Andrew Crane – Symposium Chair 2014 & Programme Chair 2016; James Austin – Recipient of 1st LTA Award; May Seitanidi – Symposia Co-ordinator

For more information, please contact:

Phone: +44 7919440088
Twitter: @MaySeitanidi


Issuers of news releases and not csrwire are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content