May 22, 2018 The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire

news by category

CSR News

Katerva Award Finalists Announced

51 new companies to change the world

Submitted by: Katerva

Categories: Sustainability, Ratings & Awards

Posted: Dec 13, 2012 – 03:57 PM EST


NEW YORK, Dec. 13 /CSRwire/ - The Katerva Award has been referred to as the Nobel Prize of Sustainability, highlighting the most innovative projects from around the world. The 2012 Katerva Award Finalists are: Eco-Fuel Africa, Sino-implant, Womankind Worldwide, Voice 4 Girls, The Water Initiative, A Liter of Light, Center for Rice Husk Technology, Amazon Conservation Team, Blue Ventures, Forest Trends, Mitsubishi Air Lubrication System for Shipping, LanX and Local Capital Markets, Solidarium, Pasteurization Technology Group, Kenguru, International Development Enterprises India, The Living Building Challenge, Kéré Architecture, Holomic LLC, Bioneedle Technologies Group, Streetline Inc., The Humblefactory (for, StatSilk /StatPlanet Project, The Gender Equality Foundation, Evacuated Tube Transport Technologies (ET3), AquaClara, Liquid Metal Battery Corporation, Embrace, C-Change, YikeBike, Asthmapolis, Nano Ganesh, MIT SENSEable City Lab Forage Tracking, Foldit, Safe World for Women, Gram Power, The GROW BIOINTENSIVE Agriculture Centre of Kenya, Future of Fish, Liquid Robotics, Reef Check Foundation, Maplecroft Climate Innovation Indexes, The Savory Institute, WikiCell Designs, AMEE, WaterCredit,, 5 Stone Green Capital LLC (5SGC), Eco-Household Training, ¡Échale! a tu casa, Backpack Farm Agricultural Program, EyeNETRA. For more information and to view all the Finalists, please go to

“To solve the complex sustainability challenges we face as stewards of our planet, will require innovative solutions across a wide range of disciplines and economic sectors. Katerva provides a much needed and novel forum for this to happen, as evidenced by the innovation and entrepreneurship embodied by this year's 51 Finalists for the Katerva Award, “ states Antonio  J. Busalacchi, Jr, Director of the Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center (ESSIC) and Professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science at the University of Maryland, USA.

The Katerva Award Winner will be fostered through development stages by members of the Winner's Circle, a group of businesses and committed experts, with the aim of implementing the winning project for maximum impact.

In a deliberation process which began in July, the Katerva nominees were submitted to rigorous process of examination by experts in each of Katerva's ten categories: Food Security, Behavioral Change, Economy, Ecosystem Conversion, Gender Equality, Materials & Resources, Human Development, Energy & Power, Transportation and Urban Design. The Katerva Award, now in its second year, draws upon a vast network of experts from science, business, academia and finance, and more.  Once a nominee has been submitted, the project is carefully screened for eligibility. Eligible, projects are then rated for viability, scalability and impact. Finalists are the top five projects from each of the ten categories. In 2012, there are 51 Finalists due to a tie in one of the categories. The Category Winners will be announced on 30 January.

Only one project will be the Katerva Award Winner, also announced 30 January. This year the Katerva Award has a new feature: the People's Choice Award. All 50 finalists are eligible for the People's Choice Award. The public is invited to vote for the People's Choice Award from 14-29 January on the Katerva website,

“Katerva is not just interested in 'good' ideas, the ideas we are after will create big changes in how we live on this planet,” says Katerva's founder, innovation guru Terry Waghorn. Founded in 2010, “Katerva's approach places emphasis squarely on action for a sustainable future—creating and implementing solutions to sustainability-related concerns,” he says. Katerva is the first truly open worldwide platform for change.

Katerva comes from the Latin word caterva, meaning “crowd.” It's our belief that the wisdom of the crowd-- organized, holds the key to the world's most pressing challenges.

For more information, please contact:

Barbara Erskine Chief Communications Officer
Phone: +393208405805
Phone 2: +393208408683


Issuers of news releases and not csrwire are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content